Cricket World Cup 2027 will return to 14 teams

LONDON: The International Cricket Council (ICC) said on Tuesday that the Men’s Cricket World Cup will once again become a 14-team tournament in 2027 and 2031.

The changes were announced as the ICC, the world governing body of cricket, unveiled its schedule of world events from 2024 to 2031.

Meanwhile, the Champions Trophy, dubbed the ‘Money’ World Cup, was last played in 2017 when Pakistan won in England, reviving it as an eight-team event in 2025 and 2029. To do

Only 10 teams competed in the 2019 World Cup, compared to 14 won by hosts England four years ago.

But a statement issued by the ICC Board said: “The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup will be a 14-team event with 54 matches in 2027 and 2031, while the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will have 20 teams. Will be extended to 55 matches in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030.

The ICC’s controversial decision to reduce the number of teams in the 2011 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand to just 10 has been criticized by critics as disappointing the game’s global growth.

Officials at the time defended the move, saying the organized format reduced the risk of similarity and was preferred by broadcasters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *